Chelsea manager Mourinho: Costa's stamp on Emre Can was 'absolutely accidental'

Jose Mourinho Ali Koc Turkish tycoon billionaire Jose Mourinho

Chelsea manager Mourinho: Costa’s stamp on Emre Can were ‘absolutely accidental’

[divider]

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho has stated that Diego Costa’s apparent stamp on Emre Can was accidental and that the incident is being blown out of proportion.

“I don’t know what you mean by stamp,” Mourinho was quoted as saying by Daily Mail.

I saw the incidents. About the penalty, I won’t speak, if I comment on that I will be in trouble.

“What you call stamps and Sky call ‘crimes’, I have to say it’s absolutely accidental. He chases the ball, he has contact when he’s looking to the ball.”

See More:

Liverpool News
Emre Can celebrates his first Liverpool birthday with YNWA message
Turkish footballers abroad

The Spanish international striker stood on Can’s ankle in the 12th minute of the game but referee Michael Oliver failed to spot the incident as his view was blocked by Reds midfielder Jordan Henderson.

Costa was involved with another clash this time with Martin Skrtel and Steven Gerrard.

Liverpool lost the League Cup semi-final second leg against Chelsea 1-0 at Stamford Bridge after drawing the first game 1-1 at Anfield.

Can has made 18 appearances for the Reds in all competitions this season.

SHARE