Find out which Turkish team has a better home defensive record than Chelsea & Tottenham this season

Gençlerbirliği
Gençlerbirliği

Find out which Turkish team has a better home defensive record than Chelsea & Tottenham this season

Turkish league outfit Genclerbirligi sit comfortably in 8th place, ensuring Super Lig safety yet again.

Compared to Europe’s top five leagues – Premier League, La Liga, Bundesliga, Serie A, Ligue 1 – only PSG have conceded fewer goals at home this sason (6).

Genclerbirligi have conceded just seven goals at home this season which is better than Chelsea (13), Tottenham (8), Juventus (9), Bayern Munich (8) and Atletico Madrid (13).

Booking.com

Chelsea have let in the least goals at home in the Premier League followed by second-placed Tottenham.

Interestingly enough in the Premier League, Serie A and Bundesliga the team that has conceded the fewest goals top their respective league.

In the Ligue 1 PSG are second, in La Liga Atletico Madrid are third. Only in the Turkish league is the team with the best defensive home record outside of the top four.

Genclerbirligi have only lost twice at home this season against Galatasaray and Adanaspor. The Ankara based outfit have not conceded more than one goal at home in a single game this season.

See More: Besiktas president reveals why Chelsea are a role model club with 300 million fans

Best defensive records in Europe (Fewest goals conceded)

Ligue 1

PSG – 6

Premier League 

Chelsea – 13

Tottenham – 8

Bundesliga

Bayern Munich – 8

Serie A

Juventus – 9

La Liga 

Atletico Madrid – 13

Genclerbirligi home results 

Sun 21/08/16 Gençlerbirliği 2 – 0 Gaziantepspor

Sat 10/09/16 Gençlerbirliği 0 – 0 Alanyaspor

Sun 25/09/16 Gençlerbirliği 2 – 0 Karabükspor

Sat 15/10/16 Gençlerbirliği 0 – 1 Galatasaray

Fri 28/10/16 Gençlerbirliği 1 – 1 Beşiktaş

Sun 27/11/16 Gençlerbirliği 0 – 0 Trabzonspor

Sat 10/12/16 Gençlerbirliği 0 – 0 İstanbul Başakşehir

Mon 26/12/16 Gençlerbirliği 3 – 1 Bursaspor

Sun 29/01/17 Gençlerbirliği 1 – 1 Osmanlıspor

Sun 19/02/17 Gençlerbirliği 2 – 0 Konyaspor

Mon 06/03/17 Gençlerbirliği 2 – 0 Akhisar

Sun 19/03/17 Gençlerbirliği 1 – 0 Rizespor

Sat 08/04/17 Gençlerbirliği 1 – 1 Antalyaspor

Sat 22/04/17 Gençlerbirliği 2 – 1 Kayserispor

Sat 06/05/17 Gençlerbirliği 0 – 1 Adanaspor

Legendary Genclerbirligi club president Ilhan Cavcav passed away earlier in the season.

Cavcav served the Ankara based outfit for almost 40 years and was the longest serving club president in Turkey.

Genclerbirligi were playing in the lower leagues when Cavcav took charge. They’ve played in the top-tier since 1990.

In 1978 Gençlerbirliği had no training facilities but now have one of the largest youth programs in Turkey with 50 acres of grounds.

SHARE

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here