Galatasaray win record 20th league title & 4th star

Galatasaray were crowned Süper Lig champions for a record 20th time after rivals Fenerbahçe were held to a 2-2 draw in a heated derby game against Başakşehir at the Fatih Terim stadium.

The 2-2 draw left the Lions with an unassailable five-point lead over second placed Fenerbahçe with one match to play.

See More:
Galatasaray News
(Video) Galatasaray take Chelsea ‘head tennis’ to another level & challenge Luis Suarez to do better

Galatasaray beat Beşiktaş 2-0 in the Istanbul derby to move six points clear of the Yellow Canaries on Sunday 24 May. The victory also ended the Black Eagles chances of securing a runners up spot.

The Lions have also earned the right to wear a fourth star on their shirt next season – becoming the first Turkish club to achieve a 20th league title.

The Süper Lig title was Galatasaray’s third league championship in the last four seasons and the Lions could win the double with a win over Bursaspor in the Turkish Cup next week.

Galatasaray will qualify directly to the Champions League for the third consecutive season.