Turkish Cup Final Preview: Galatasaray v Bursaspor

Galatasaray will be hoping to win the double when they take on Bursaspor in the Turkish Cup final at the Bursa Atatürk stadium.

The Lions as league champions will undoubtedly be the bookies favourites but it is worth noting that most of the team has spent the week partying and celebrating making history by wining the league title for the 20th time.

Bursaspor meanwhile have been preparing and training hard for the cup final and do not have any major injury concerns.

There are two key factors worth pointing out going into the final. Firstly Bursaspor are undefeated at home since September and the final is being played at the Bursa Atatürk stadium. Secondly Galatasaray will be without arguably their player of the season Fernando Muslera. It is also worth pointing out that Bursaspor have scored more goals than any other side in the league this season (69) and that Galatasaray’s recent clean sheet streak was largely the work of Muslera’s heroics in goal.

Bursaspor have the league top goalscorer in Fernandao who now has 25 goals in all competitions this season but Galatasaray also pack a punch going forwards. The Lions scored the second highest number of goals (60) and Wesley Sneijder has a habit of scoring big goals in big games.

The Green Crocodiles could pull off a surprise and ruin Hamza Hamzaoğlu’s fairytale start to his Galatasaray management career but the Lions have made winning a habit lately. Under normal conditions the Istanbul giants would be favourites but considering the absence of Muslera and the fact that some of the players may have had one too many parties last week the best value is in Both Teams To Score or Over 2.5 goals.

Prediction: BTTS, Over 2.5 goals

See More
Galatasaray News
Galatasaray to hold talks with Manchester United target Dani Alves
Galatasaray to meet with Arsenal forward Lukas Podolski on Wednesday

Kick-Off: 18.30 (GMT)
Stadium: Bursa Atatürk
Referee: Bülent Yıldırım

Galatasaray: Sinan, Sabri, Semih, Hakan, Telles, Selçuk, Melo, Hamit, Yasin, Sneijder, Burak
Manager: Hamza Hamzaoğlu

Bursaspor: Harun, Şener, Ozan Tufan, ŞAmil, Emre, Bekir, Belluschi, Volkan Şen, Josue, Bakambu, Fernandao
Manager: Şenol Güneş