Arda Turan slams LFP awards

Arda Turan has expressed his disappointment at the Spanish Liga de Fútbol Profesional’s (LFP) annual awards for 2013‑14 season which was held on Monday night.

Turan stated “It’s unbelievable. We can’t even bring ourselves to discuss the topic in the dressing room.

“After 18 years we became Champions and even Thibaut Courtois didn’t get an award.

“Other than the prize which went to Ronaldo, we deserved the rest.”

Six Atletico players were shortlisted for awards in the event, held in Madrid, but none left with trophies. Thibaut Courtois, Miranda, Filipe Luis, Gabi, Koke and Diego Costa were all nominated but all left empty-handed.

Atletico Madrid’s players were handed a further blow with the announcement of the Ballon d’Or shortlist on Monday.

Despite winning the Spanish League and reaching the Champions League final, only Thibaut Courtois made the 23 man FIFA Ballon d’or 2014 shortlist.

Men’s shortlists for the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014

Gareth Bale (Wales), Karim Benzema (France), Diego Costa (Spain), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Angel Di Maria (Argentina), Mario Goetze (Germany), Eden Hazard (Belgium), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Toni Kroos (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Javier Mascherano (Argentina), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Mueller (Germany), Manuel Neuer (Germany), Neymar (Brazil), Paul Pogba (France), Sergio Ramos (Spain), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), James Rodriguez (Colombia), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Yaya Toure (Côte d’Ivoire).