Arsenal team news: Star playmaker makes provisional squad against Huddersfield

Arsenal star Arsenal v Chelsea

Arsenal team news: Star playmaker makes provisional squad

Arsenal take on Huddersfield at the Emirates on Wednesday evening hoping to extend an impressive run of form that has seen them win four of their last five games.

Mesut Ozil missed the weekend clash against Burnley due to illness.

It remains to be seen whether the playmaker of Turkish origin will feature against Huddersfield but he has been included in the provisional squad ahead of the clash.

Ozil did train with the Arsenal squad on Tuesday morning and could be involved at some stage tonight.

The 29-year-old faces a late fitness test ahead of the clash.

Wenger has good news on the injury front with Alex Iwobi available after he sustained a dead leg during the game at Burnley.

“For Sunday’s game, we had no Ozil. It’s planned for him to train again today and we’ll make an assessment of him after the training session. Alex Iwobi got a dead leg, a kick on his leg. We’re not sure that he will be available for tomorrow. Everybody else should be available again,” Wenger said in his pre-match press conference.

See More: ‘The truth is the opposite of what Wenger says’ – Arsenal fans react to head coach claims that Ozil & Sanchez will stay

The Gunners head coach Santi Cazorla remains a long-term absentee with an Achilles injury.

Huddersfield, meanwhile, will be without the suspended Rajiv Van la Parra, meanwhile Philip Billing (ankle), Michael Hefele (Achilles) and Jon Gorenc Stankovic (knee) are still out.

Arsenal are currently 12 points behind leaders Manchester City but could close the gap to nine points should they win and City lose.

Arsenal Provisional squad: Cech, Ospina, Mertesacker, Holding, Koscielny, Mustafi, Chambers, Monreal, Debuchy, Bellerin, Nelson, Kolasinac, Maitland-Niles, Ramsey, Wilshere, Xhaka, Elneny, Ozil, Walcott, Sanchez, Welbeck, Lacazette, Giroud.

Huddersfield Provisional squad: Lossl, Green, Coleman, Malone, Cranie, Schindler, Jorgensen, Hadergjonaj, Smith, Lowe, Williams, Hogg, Mooy, Ince, Kachunga, Sabiri, Quaner, Depoitre, Mounie.