Rizespor 2 – 3 Galatasaray: Mbaye Diagne Scores Last-Gast Winner In Controversial Victory

Senegal's forward Mbaye Diagne attends a training session of the Senegal national football team on the eve of their friendly match with Mali, at the Leopold Sedar Senghor Stadium in Dakar, on March 25, 2019. (Photo by SEYLLOU / AFP) (Photo credit should read SEYLLOU/AFP/Getty Images)

Galatasaray beat Rizesspor 3-2 at the Caykur Didi stadium on Saturday to move into first place in the Super Lig.

Sofiane Feghouli gave the Lions the lead with a brilliant goal inside the first 10 minutes but Vedat Muriqi equalised just before half-time.

The home took the lead on 74 minutes when Mugdat Celik found the back of the net.

Rize looked to have pulled off a shock upset in the title race heading into the 90th minute but the Lions were awarded a controversial penalty which Mbaye Diagne converted three minutes into additional team.

VAR ruled that the challenge on Henry Onyekuru warranted a spot kick. The incident was hotly debated after the match.

Diagne then went onto bag a brace in the sixth minute of additional time for a dramatic winner.

The Senegal international now has 30 goals this term.

See More: The Secret Life Of Arsenal Star Mesut Ozil

The victory moved Galatasaray three points clear of 2nd placed Basaksehir at the top of the Super Lig table.

The Lions take on Basaksehir next in the league.

Çaykur Rizespor 2 – 3 Galatasaray

Stadium: Çaykur Didi

Referee: Serkan Çınar, Mustafa Emre Eyisoy, Volkan Ahmet Narinç

Çaykur Rizespor: Gökhan Akkan, Moroziuk, Awaziem, Abarhoun, Melnjak, Azubuike, Musa Çağıran (min. 90+10 Nakoulma), Umar (min. 90+7 Saadane), Samudio, Boldrin (min. 83 Abdullah Durak), Muric

Galatasaray: Muslera, Mariano, Luyindama, Marcao, Nagatomo, Donk (Dk. 62 Emre Akbaba, min. 74 Muğdat Çelik), Fernando, Feghouli, Ndiaye (min. 83 Sinan Gümüş), Onyekuru, Diagne

Goals: min. 9 Feghouli, min. 90+3 Penaltıdan ve 90+8 Diagne (Galatasaray), Dk. 45 Muric, Dk. 76 Umar (Çaykur Rizespor)

Kırmızı kart: Dk. 73 Samudio (Çaykur Rizespor)