Team profile – Trabzonspor


Founded: 1967

Stadium: Hüseyin Avni Aker



Trabzonspor are a professional sports club based in the city of Trabzon, located on the Black Sea coast of north-eastern Turkey. The club was founded via a forced merger between rivals İdmanocağı and İdmangücü. The Turkish Football Federation had initially asked for the two teams to combine in 1962 in-line with their new directive aimed at create larger, organized and professional clubs, however both clubs refused. The clubs continued objecting to the TFF’s demands until in 1967 the federation took the decision to exclude both teams from the league unless they co-operated. The hard-line approach worked and in 1967 İdmanocağı and İdmangücü merged to establish Trabzonspor.

The Black Sea giants went on to become the most successful Turkish club outside of Istanbul going on to win the league on six occassions. Trabzonspor were the first Anatolian club to win the Turkish first-division and break the stranglehold Istanbul clubs held over Turkish football.

Fans of Aston Villa may have noticed a similarity between the club colors of Trabzonspor and Villa, it may appear to be a coincidence however, it’s not down to chance. During the clubs first years Şamil Ekinci who later went on to become chairman fell in love with Aston Villa’s colors and sent a playing kit back to Trabzon. The club put Trabzonspor emblem over the Aston Villa badge and adopted The Claret-Blues colors. Trabzonspor like their long lost English cousins are also known as Bordo-Mavililer (Claret-Blues).

The Claret-Blues have an estimated 3-4 million supporters, drawing most of their support from the Trabzon province and surrounding regions. Recent studies have shown that 72% of Trabzon support their local club. Supporting Trabzonspor has become synonymous with being Trabzonlu (a person from Trabzon), there is a strong sense of city and regional pride associated with the Black Sea club.

The team play in the 24,169 capacity Hüseyin Avni Aker Stadium. Unlike most Turkish clubs Trabzonspor don’t have a unified ultra group, instead they have many splinter groups and small ultra firms, 61 Gençlik, Çılgınlar, Vira are just a few of the 15-20 active groups.



Trabzonspor are the most successful Turkish club outside of Istanbul having won the league on six occasions. The Black Sea giants glory years were thanks to Ahmet Suat Özyazıcı, a manager who will forever be remembered as a legend in the city of Trabzon. Özyazıcı took over in 1973, achieved promotion to the first division in his first season and then became the first team outside of Istanbul to win the league in 1974. The Black Sea Storm then went on to win the double in 1976-77 lifting the league and Turkish Cup.

Trabzon went on to win 17 trophies during the Özyazıcı era, six leagues, three Turkish Cups, six Turkish Super Cups and two Presidential trophies. Özyazıcı returned to the club in later years however, was unable to repeat his successes. Trabzonspor have not lifted the title since 1984.

Şenol Güneş has been the most successful manager since Özyazıcı. Güneş achieved legendary status when he took the Turkish national team to the Semi Final’s of the 2002 World Cup. After a brief spell in South Korea he returned to Turkey to build a strong team at Trabzonspor, winning the Turkish Cup twice, the Super cup and finishing runners-up in the controversial 2010-11 season.

Interesting Facts


When at a Trabzonspor game don’t be alarmed by the 61st minute festivities, you may be fooled into thinking the game is over and the celebrations have started early with the fireworks, confetti and jubilant crowd going absolutely ballistic. However, this is a Trabzonspor tradition – 61 is their city code and in the 61st minute of every home game the supporters go crazy and a festival atmosphere takes over the Avni Aker stadium. Expect the passion from the crowd to reach fever pitch for the duration of the game thereafter.


Süper Lig
Winners (6): 1975–76, 1976–77, 1978–79, 1979–80, 1980–81, 1983–84
Runners-up (8): 1977–78, 1981–82, 1982–83, 1994–95, 1995–96, 2003–04, 2004–05, 2010–11

Türkiye Kupası (Turkish FA Cup)
Winners (8): 1977, 1978, 1984, 1992, 1995, 2003, 2004, 2010
Runners-up (5): 1975, 1976, 1985, 1990, 1997

Turkish Super Cup
Winners (8): 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1983, 1995, 2010

Chancellor Cup
Winners (5):’ 1976, 1978, 1985, 1994, 1996
Runners-up (7): 19661, 1975, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1997, 1998