Barcelona star Arda Turan admits boot throwing incident was wrong but reveals he could do it again

Barcelona star Arda Turan caused quite a stir when he threw his boot at a linesman last season while playing for Atletico Madrid.

Turan has admitted that he made a mistake but joked that his boot slinging habit may return at any stage if he is aggravated.

“Throwing the boot was a mistake, and I learned it was wrong,” Turan was quoted as saying as saying by Football-Espana.

Booking.com

“But on the pitch I’m a player with character. If you want I could throw my boot now…”

Ironically the bearded winger was up against his current side in the semi-final stages when he saw red and responded to his boot coming off in a challenge by throwing it at the assistant referee.

 

The boot narrowly missed the official’s head and resulted in Turan being booked by the referee.

The Rojiblancos ended up losing the game 3-2 and being eliminated from the competition.

Turan’s teammates did however, see the funny side of the incident and decided they would reward the bearded one with a cake shaped as a football boot to celebrate his 28th birthday last year.

turan shoe

See More
7 Barcelona players to have worn the No 7 shirt – The Magnificent 7
Barcelona Player Profile: Arda Turan – The Bearded Genius

 

SHARE