Chelsea striker should face FA Ban for Emre Can stamp [divider]
Chelsea striker Diego Costa should face a FA ban for stamping on Liverpool midfielder Emre Can during the Carling Cup semi-final second leg according to former referee Graham Poll.
“The question now is will the Football Association act retrospectively and charge Costa with violent conduct?” Poll told the Daily Mail.
“To do so they have to check that referee Michael Oliver did not see the incident; it might seem obvious that he didn’t as he took no disciplinary action but once Oliver confirms that neither he nor his colleagues saw the stamp they should charge Costa.”
The game was marred in controversy as Chelsea striker Diego Costa stood on Can’s ankle in the 12th minute of the match. Referee Michael Oliver seemed to fail to spot the incident and it looked as if his view was blocked by Reds midfielder Jordan Henderson.
The FA can review the footage if Oliver and his assistants confirm that they failed to see the incident take place at the time.
The 21-year-old midfielder has made 18 appearances for the Reds in all competitions this season.
Chelsea qualified for the Capital One Cup final following the win and will face either Tottenham or Sheffield United who face each other in the other semi-final game. The cup final will be played at Wembley.