Costa deliberately stamped on Liverpool’s Emre Can says Thierry Henry [divider]
Chelsea striker Diego Costa deliberately stamped on Liverpool midfielder Emre Can according to Sky Sports football pundit Thierry Henry.
“You can see clearly that he meant that,” Henry told Sky Sports.
“I think it was a red but the ref didn’t see it, the linesman didn’t see it and the fourth official didn’t see it.”
Costa stood on Can’s ankle in the 12th minute of the game but referee Michael Oliver failed to spot the incident as his view was blocked by Reds midfielder Jordan Henderson.
The Spanish international was involved with another clash this time with Martin Skrtel and Steven Gerrard.
The Reds lost the League Cup semi-final second leg against Chelsea 1-0 at Stamford Bridge after drawing the first game 1-1 at Anfield.
Chelsea qualified for the Capital One Cup final place at Wembley following the win and will face either Tottenham or Sheffield United who face each other in the other semi-final game.
The former Bayer Leverkusen midfielder started in defence against Chelsea for the ninth consecutive game.
Can has made 18 appearances for the Reds in all competitions this season.